John Hampden Grammar School

T Levels

From September 2020, the Government are introducing a new T Level qualification for students following GCSE’s.


What are T Levels?

T Levels are a brand new qualification designed for 16-19 year olds, with a mixture of classroom learning and work placement. They follow GCSEs and are equivalent to 3 A Levels. T Levels are a 2-year qualification, after which you can step straight into your chosen career, an apprenticeship or a degree. These courses have been developed in collaboration with employers and businesses so that the content meets the needs of industry and prepares students for work.  T Levels will offer students a mixture of classroom learning and ‘on-the-job’ training during an industry placement of at least 45 days (315 hours). They will provide the knowledge and experience needed to open doors into a skilled job, higher apprenticeship or university.

Following GCSEs, (Year 11)  students will have the option to study one of the following pathways:

  • T Levels
  • BTEC
  • apprenticeship
  • A levels

T Levels are based on the same standards as apprenticeships, designed by employers, and will offer around 1,800 hours of study over two years. This will include a 45-day work placement, so T Levels will be more suited to students who know what occupation or industry they want to move into.

T Levels include compulsory elements:

  • a technical qualification which includes core skills, theory, and concepts for the industry area
  • specialist occupational skills and knowledge of the career
  • an industry placement with an employer
  • a minimum standard in maths and English, if students haven’t already achieved this

How are T Levels graded?

Students who complete a T Level will receive an overall grade of pass, merit, distinction or distinction* and will be awarded with a nationally recognised certificate showing a breakdown of what they’ve achieved. It will also confirm that a student has met the minimum requirements for maths and English qualifications.

Are T Levels included in the UCAS Tariff?

Students who want to progress into higher education will be able to see how UCAS Tariff points are allocated to their T Level. They must achieve at least an overall pass grade to receive Tariff points, as set out below:


UCAS Tariff points

T Level overall grade  

 A Level


Distinction* (A* on the core and distinction

in the occupational specialism)









Pass (C or above on the core)



Pass (D or E on the core)



What T Level subjects are available?

The first three T Levels available to start in September 2020 will be:

  • digital production, design and development
  • design, surveying and planning
  • education

From autumn 2021, T Levels will also be available in:

  • building services engineering
  • digital business services
  • digital support and services
  • health
  • healthcare science
  • onsite construction
  • science

More T Levels will be available from Autumn 2022.

Students will be able to enrol on a T Level course in September 2020. 

Uxbridge College (part of HCUC) is one of the 4 institutions in London, chosen to deliver this programme and will be offering T Level courses in the following subject areas: 

  1. Digital sector: Digital production, design and development T Level (Uxbridge Campus)
  2. Education and Childcare sector: Education T Level (Hayes Campus)