Miss T Hartley - Headteacher

HeadteacherOriginally from Canada, Miss Hartley became Headteacher of JHGS in September 2016, only the fifth Head and the first female Headteacher in the history of the school. Miss Hartley had previously been Deputy Headteacher and Acting Headteacher at Nonsuch High School for Girls in Cheam, Surrey. She began her career in education teaching History and more recently Psychology. She joined the teaching profession after 6 years in sales and marketing firstly with Mr Kipling Cakes and then with Entertainment UK.

Mr N Hathaway - Deputy Headteacher

NHMr Hathaway joined JHGS as Deputy Head in September 2019. He was previously Deputy Head at an independent school in Abingdon and held Acting Head, Deputy Head and Assistant Head posts at a comprehensive school in Swindon and a Grammar School in Manchester. He started his teaching career in Leicestershire where he also worked as a Head of Year and then as a Head of MFL at a school in Wigan. Originally from Cheshire, just south of Manchester, Mr Hathaway studied French at Sheffield University and gained a PGDipEd in Educational Leadership and Management from Warwick University.

Mr Hathaway leads on all pastoral matters at the school and is the school’s Designated Safeguarding Lead.

Mr D Sammels - Assistant Headteacher

David SammelsMr Sammels was educated in Edinburgh before reading Philosophy, Politics and Economics at the University of York.  He was previously Head of Sixth Form at a grammar school in Slough, where he also completed his NPQSL.  He joined JHGS as an Assistant Headteacher in 2017.

Mr Sammels leads on assessment, data, reporting, exams and educational visits.

Mr J Turner - Assistant Headteacher

TurnerA product of a Devon based boys’ grammar school, Mr Turner graduated with a Business degree from the University of Surrey before gaining a PGCE from Kingston University. He was previously Head of Faculty and Assistant Director of Sixth Form at an outstanding Hertfordshire Teaching School, before joining JHGS as an Assistant Headteacher in September 2019.

Mr Turner leads on curriculum, digital strategy, outreach and pupil premium.

Miss H Burrow - Assistant Headteacher, Director of Sixth Form

HLBHaving been born and educated in the neighbouring county of Berkshire, Miss Burrow completed her BA Hons degree in German and Spanish at the University of Southampton. She joined John Hampden in 2013 as a newly qualified teacher and has since held the positions of Head of Year 7, Teacher in Charge of Spanish and Head of Sixth Form.

As Assistant Headteacher – Director of Sixth Form, Miss Burrow is responsible for the academic attainment and pastoral welfare of the Sixth Form students. She also acts as Professional Tutor and Initial Teacher Training Co-ordinator, monitoring the standards of Teaching and Learning and supporting other teachers, including those who are new to the profession, with their own professional career development.

Mrs K Bailey - Business Manager

Kate BaileyMrs Bailey has been at John Hampden since 2012 and has been Business Manager since August 2014. She is responsible for finance, administration, HR and, together with the Site Manager, the premises. In short, most things that are not Teaching and Learning. She has worked in schools since 2007 and enjoys the varied challenges that each day brings!

Full Staff List

Staffing 2021-2022  


Senior Leadership Team  

Miss T Hartley – Headteacher  

Mr N Hathaway – Deputy Headteacher  

Miss H Burrow – Assistant Headteacher; Director of Sixth Form  

Mr D Sammels – Assistant Headteacher  

Mr J Turner – Assistant Headteacher  

Mrs K Bailey – Business Manager  



Mrs G Forge  

Ms H Twiggs (p/t)  

Mrs S Boone - Technician  


Business and Economics  

Ms S Neal   - Head of Business, Economics and Enterprise

Mr M Bilsborough - Deputy Head of Sixth Form (Year 12)  

Mr M McCormack  - Head of Year 10

Miss A Fiaz


Computer Science  

Mrs S Ali - Head of Computing 

Mrs E Eddison  


Design and Technology 

Dr P Hodges - Head of Design Technology & Art 

Mr G Roderick

Ms A Wrobel

Mr J Barnbrook - Technician 




Mr M Till - Head of English 

Mrs J Summers (p/t) - Deputy Head of English 

Dr L Estridge (p/t)  

Miss L Janke 

Mr K Khan - Head of Year 9

Mr R Langridge (p/t)  

Mr G Lowe  

Miss S Mitchell



Mr D Moussavi - Head of Geography 

Miss J Burgess  

Mrs A McEvett (p/t)  

Mrs F Tremelling (p/t)  


History and Politics  

Mr A Sawdon – Head of History & Politics 

Miss E Labonte  

Mr S Parbery (p/t)  



Mr C Lowe - Head of MFL 

Mrs J Bolton (p/t)  - Deputy Head of MFL

Miss R Cousins  - Head of Year 8

Miss C Draper  

Mrs S Fidalgo  

Mrs J Pook  - Head of Year 11



Mr A Barnes - Head of Maths 

Mr S Dean – Deputy Head of Maths 

Miss A Bridgwater  

Mr G Clapperton  

Mr M Hill  

Mrs H Livingstone  

Mr T Zindonda  



Mr N Rogers - Director of Music & Music Technology 

Mrs A Bingham - Deputy Head of Sixth Form (Year 13)



Mr T Neill - Director of Sport 

Mr G Davy  

Mr A Patten  

Mr C Taylor  

Mr S Olhausen - Head of Hockey

Mr W Midwinter - Technician  



Ms L Bridger - Head of Psychology 



Ms M Sri Head of RS, Head of PSD  



Dr A Bullard  - Head of Science 



Miss S Venn - Head of Biology 

Mr D Arnold (p/t)  

Mrs S Bedford (p/t)  

Mr M Ingram  

Mr N Sheikh  



Mr A Folkes - Head of Chemistry 

Mrs E Odell 

Dr J Wade  



Mr N Dunn - Head of Physics 

Miss M Doxopoulou  

Mrs B Stiles  

Miss G Hush (p/t)  


Lab Technicians  

Mrs P Guy  

Mrs S Holley  

Mr C Matheson  

Mrs S Shahir


Pastoral Structure  

Mr N Hathaway – Deputy Headteacher/DSL  

Mrs B Stiles - SENDco

Head of Year 7   Ms P Williams  

Head of Year 8   Miss R Cousins

Head of Year 9   Mr K Khan

Head of Year 10 Mr M McCormack  

Head of Year 11 Mrs J Pook  


Miss H Burrow – Director of Sixth Form  

Deputy Head of Sixth Form (Year 12)   Mr M Bilsborough

Deputy Head of Sixth Form (Year 13)   Mrs A Bingham


Support Staff  

EA to the Headteacher and Deputy Head/Admissions Officer   Ms C Meah  

HR Manager   Mrs F Benamer  

PA to the Leadership Team   Mrs D Templing  

Sixth Form Pastoral Support   Mrs J Webster

Lower and Middle School Pastoral Support  Mrs S Jefferson  

Sixth Form Pastoral Administration Assistant  Mrs S MacRae  

Examinations Officer   Mrs C Openshaw  

Data Manager   Mrs K Clark  

Administrator School Data   Mrs F Grimmett  

LRC Manager   Miss B Harrison  

Curriculum Support   Mrs D Appleby and Mrs C White  

Cover Manager   Mrs A Walters  

Cover Supervisors   Mr S Smith 

Learning Support Manager   Mrs C Dunne  

D of E Centre Manager, Assistant EVC Mr N Townsend  

Student Welfare Officer   Miss J Randell  

School Counsellor   Ms V Crouch  


Network Manager   Mr I Orankan  

IT Support   Mr K Ahmed and Mr R Mehmood  

Finance Assistants   Mrs F Light, Mrs K Fury, Mrs N Allen and Mrs C Hunt  

PE Administrator   Mrs S Hoad  

Receptionists   Mrs A Bedford (morning) Mrs E Glover (afternoon)  



Mrs P Balbini, Mr P Barnes, Mr T Cook, Mrs Drayton-Freier, Mrs C Iddon, Mrs H Laughton, Mrs D Lowe, Mrs O Smith, Mrs P Toone, Ms P Williams  


Site Team  

Site Manager   Mr S Light  

Site Team   Mr T Collins, Mr K Oliver, Mr G Cyster